The Stephen Moose Corn Functional Lab At Illinois

Current Lab Members:

Stephen MooseStephen Moose, Professor, smoose@illinois.edu
PhD: Genetics & Crop Science (co-major), North Carolina State University — 1995
BS: Biology, Case Western Reserve University — 1990

JillWallitschekJill Wallitschek, Lab Manager, jillrw@illinois.edu
Jill graduated with honors at the University of Arizona in 2016 recieving a BS in Environmental Sciences. She started as lab manager for the Moose lab in September later that year to pursue a career in crop research.

BosenZhangBosen Zhang, Postdoctoral Associate, bszhang@illinois.edu
Bosen recieved his phD in Tsinghua Univeristy, China. Through the integration of variations derived from DNA, mRNA and small RNA (sRNA), he is currently working on the genetics and genomics of sRNA in diverse maize inbred lines and their hybrids and pedigrees. He aims to associate sRNA inheritance patterns to maize phenotypes and heterosis.

JenniferArpJennifer Arp, Graduate Student, jarp2@illinois.edu
Jennifer received her BS in Plant Biology and Genetics, Cell Biology & Development from the University of Minnesota in 2010 and has recently recieved her PhD in the Moose Lab. In 2015, she was awarded a USDA ELI Predoctoral Fellowship for her research on regulators of nitrogen use efficiency. She uses gene expression networks to identify candidate genes and functional genomics approaches to validate their effects on NUE.

JessicaBubertJessica Bubert, Graduate Student, jbubert2@illinois.edu
Jessica received a BS in Applied Plant Science from the University of Minnesota in 2011 and a MS in Crop Science from UIUC in 2014. She's a Jonathan Baldwin Turner Fellow and uses genomics to improve nitrogen utilization efficiency in field grown maize. Jessica maintains the Nolan Trust Broomcorn Diversity Collection used to improve broomcorn harvestability and broom traits. The collection can further understanding of the genetics for inflorescence architecture in sorghum.

NicholasHellerNicholas Heller, Graduate Student, njhelle2@illinois.edu
Nicholas received his BA in Biology from Illinois Wesleyan University in 2013. He is now an Illinois Corn Marketing Board graduate fellow and is in the proccess of pursuing his doctorate in Plant Breeding and Plant Genetics using the Illinois Long Term Selection Experiment and other systems to research plant response to selection.

StephenJingaStephen Jinga, Graduate Student, sjinga2@illinois.edu
Stephen received his BS in Plant Sciences from the University of Arizona in 2016. He is an Ambrose Fellow and is currently pursuing an M.S. in Plant Breeding, Genetics, and Cytogenetics. His research focuses on using CRISPR Cas9 for genome editing in the Illinois Long Term Selection Experiment and exploring genes involved in protein accumulation.

BrianRhodesBrian Rhodes, Graduate Student, bhrhode2@illinois.edu
Brian’s work is focused on identifying and characterizing genes involved in nitrogen utilization. He uses fine mapping techniques in conjunction with the Moose lab’s extensive RNA sequencing database to select genes of interest. Additionally, he is developing a gene editing system within the lab to assist in verifying the function of candidate genes.

EddieRossEdward Ross, Graduate Student, ehross3@illinois.edu
Eddie received his BA in Biological Sciences from Vanderbilt University in 2015. He is an Illinois Corn Marketing Board fellow pursuing his PhD in Crop Sciences. Eddie’s research uses bioinformatics to identify candidate genes that regulate nitrogen metabolism which are further analyzed to assess their effect on NUE.


Alumni:

Ayodeji Abe

Wesley Barber, barber4@illinois.edu

Jay Boddu, jboddu@illinois.edu

Jeff Church

Hena Guo

Farag Ibraheem, fii100@illinois.edu

Arkana Kampani

Nick Lauter

Yuhe Liu, yuheliu1@illinois.edu

Christine Lucas, cjlucas@illinois.edu

Shawna Naidu

Devin Nichols

Rawikarn Pulam, pulam1@illinois.edu

Ayna Salas

Marti Schneerman

Kankshita Swaminathan

Wei Zhang, wzhang25@illinois.edu

Han Zhao

Michael Zinder, mzinder@illinois.edu